The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Wind Quintet was formed in 2001 by solo wind players from the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra as a modern successor to the Stockholm Philharmonic Wind Quintet that was active in the 1960s and 70s. It is formed of Andreas Alin (flute), Jesper Harryson (oboe), Hermann Stefánsson (clarinet), Jens-Christoph Lemke (bassoon) and Kristofer Öberg (horn).

The legendary quintet from the 1960s and 70s toured all over the world and played the first performance of numerous wind quintets such as “Ten Pieces for Wind Quintet” by György Ligeti in 1968, commissioned by the original Stockholm Philharmonic Wind Quintet and the first performance of  “Six bagatelles for Wind Quintet” in 1969.

The current quintet is based in the Stockholm Concert Hall in the heart of Stockholm. One of Sweden's architectural masterpieces in the neoclassical style of the 1920s, the concert hall was built especially to house the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. Apart from being a venue for world-class concerts, it hosts the annual Nobel Prize Award Ceremony and the Polar Music Prizes.

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Wind Quintet regularly performs at the annual “Stockholm International Composer Festival” (having featured composers like Hans Werner Henze, Esa-Pekka Salonen and Anders Hillborg) and “Composer Weekend”, focusing on a contemporary Swedish composer.

In order to expand and vary the repertoire, the quintet is collaborating with pianist Bengt Forsberg.

“L’album classique de janvier 2016” The quintet CD “Francis Poulenc - Sonatas - Elegy - Trio - for winds and piano” has been awarded as January's classical album in 2016 by Radio France.

Stockholm Philharmonic Wind Quintet web.jpg