Fejn il-Bahar - Hero Image.jpg
Fejn il-Baħar
Fejn il-Bahar - Read More photo.jpg

Photo by pixbymax

In collaboration with 

MPO Logo Black-01.png

In 2020, the Malta International Arts Festival in collaboration with the Malta Philharmonic Orchestra launched a video featuring a new arrangement by Kris Spiteri of the Maltese classic Kemm Hu Sabiħ – sung by 17 different local singers, portraying a wonderful collage of voices evoking unity and solidarity. This truly stunning video by Three Wise Men Productions reached over 15,000 views. This year, MIAF is developing this strand further by producing yet another music video of the classic Down by the Water by The Characters in its Maltese version under the title Fejn il-Baħar. The music arrangement as well as Maltese lyrics are by Kris Spiteri, featuring 10 local singers, MPO musicians, and session musicians.


Produced by the Malta International Arts Festival 


Artistic director: Ruben Zahra
in collaboration with the Malta Philharmonic Orchestra
original song: Down by the Water by The Characters

Fejn il-Baħar

Maltese lyrics – Kris Spiteri

Music arrangement – Kris Spiteri

Music producer – Matthew James

Mixing and mastering – Matthew James

Recording studio – Cornerhouse Studios

Recording engineer – Luke Grech


Video Production

Video concept – Ruben Zahra and Rodney Gauci 

Video production – Three Wise Men

Director & DOP – Rodney Gauci

Editor – Lydin Cristina

Grip – Marco Bartolo

Gaffer – Andrew Zammit



Aaron Debattista

Angela Vella Zarb

Brooke Borg

Fiona Cauchi

Kyle George

Justin Galea

Mark Micallef Costa

Nico Micallef


Raquela Dalli Gonzi

Ray Mercieca


MPO Musicians

Marcelline Agius – violin I 

Reggie Clews – violin II 

Nadia Debono – viola  

Ákos Kertész – cello 

Etienne Cutajar – french horn 

Kevin Abela – trumpet  

Roderick Bugeja – trombone  

Britt Arend – harp  


Session Musicians

Luke Grech – guitar

Kris Spiteri – piano

Matthew James – keyboard 

Eric Wadge – bass guitar

Robert Spiteri – drums 


The Characters

Ray Mercieca – singer and guitar

Antoine Faure – keyboards and piano

Gino Micallef – bass guitar

Antoine Griscti – drums 


Special thanks to Sigmund Mifsud and Aurelio Belli


28 June 2021




All necessary measures to ensure the health and safety of the cast and crew were taken.